LIMBO

Limbo,what a word. Dictionary.com defines it as a place or state of oblivion to which persons or things are regarded as being relegated when cast aside, forgotten, past, or out of date. It also defines it as a an intermediate, transitional, or midway state or place. Both of these apply for me right now. This transitional state has been going on for my entire life!! I think everyone is in limbo or transition all the time. We may not see it that way when we have babies that need feeding and changing, or school aged children that need homework help, or teenagers needing guidance or even adult children who need advice. But transitions occur daily. And sometimes you get stuck.

The stuck feeling comes to me when things are even, unwavering and steady. There is no crisis to intervene in, no drama to deal with, no tension, and yet there is a feeling like something needs to be done, to be looked after , to be accomplished.

And then I remember “be still and know that I am God” from the Psalms. Yes being still is hard work, awaiting a change, awaiting forward movement, awaiting …. something which I can not give a name to or explain.

So for today my limbo stands for L – living I – in the M –moment B-by the O –omniscience ,all present God. I think I can live in LIMBO , but I will not tell anyone that it is easy to be still. Stillness goes against my nature in this rush, rush world so I have to constantly remind myself to be still, and to acknowledge that God is indeed in control. My verse for the year is from Isaiah 26:3 “Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, The Lord God, Yahweh is the rock eternal ” . Limbo or not God remains in control and this is my refuge.

5 thoughts on “LIMBO

  1. We are often in a state of transition, aren’t we? We just don’t often gauge the speed we are traveling and moving around well enough unless we are sitting down and can literally see the world moving around. It’s a lot like explaining the theory of relativity. Movement and motion are relative to our position and how we recognize our place in it. I like how you redefine the word with an acrostic to remind you to wait on Him in every transition!
    Blessings,
    Dawn

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this new definition of limbo. It definitely makes me want to welcome that state of being in limbo a whole lot more! Plus, I’m so thankful God is always there no matter what state I find myself in!
    Blessings to you!
    Marva | SunSparkleShine

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

