Change of seasons

Finally the heat has broken and while it is still warm, the nights are coming a bit cooler, the spiders are spinning their webs to catch the last prey  of summer and the leaves are slowly turning from rich, deep green to paler shades and even some yellows and oranges. Yes, here we are again in another change. In five days we have to say goodbye to the grandson, and will surely miss his toddler voice saying “I’m coming down” as he comes downstairs each morning. Yes we will miss it greatly.

The youngest feels the changes and the anxiousness that approaches as only he can. I am sure it is hard on him, this upheaval of scheduling and people in and out. I can tell because I had to go out and he said “Leave your phone on” , now this is the first time he has said that in a while so I know anxiety is ticked one step up. Not much, just a little, so we are aware, alert and on guard again, trying to balance the meds for the anxiety against the need and not over do that combination which would lead to dependancy, but rather having him cope with his internal skills because he needs to do this also!!

I read a Jesus Calling devotion the other day , the one by Sarah Young. Funny how sometimes those devotions just hit the target. My second daughter gave me a flip calendar, before she left for Africa, now she is back and I am still reading it daily. The devotion said “Entrust your loved ones to me,release them into My protective care. They are much safer with Me than in your clinging hands.” And since I had been thinking about the upcoming departure of the eldest and her family to a foreign country, it spoke to my heart. It also applies to the youngest as he works towards going and living on his own.

So today my prayer is for me to release those I love into the care of the all sufficient God, who has more resources than I can imagine. For me to cling tightly to His hand, and obey , to hope in Him and know that He is the God who is in all things, over all things and through all things. Amen

Leave a Reply

